EPS Student Awards Spring 2020

The department is pleased to announce the newest student award winners.

This spring, three EPS students, Huimin Wang, Qing Liu, and Choua Xiong, were awarded the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship. The Dissertation Fellowship Program seeks to encourage a new generation of scholars from a wide range of disciplines and professional fields to undertake research relevant to the improvement of education. These $27,500 fellowships support individuals whose dissertations show potential for bringing fresh and constructive perspectives to the history, theory, analysis, or practice of formal or informal education anywhere in the world.

This highly competitive program aims to identify the most talented researchers conducting dissertation research related to education. The Dissertation Fellowship program receives many more applications than it can fund. This year 35 fellowships will be awarded.

Tarsha Herelle is winner of the Department of Gender & Women’s Studies’ Mary Washburn Willets Award for Excellence in the Social Sciences (2019-2020) for her dissertation, “Spaces of Radical Openness: How Women in the Black Diaspora Engage with Spaces of Resistance in Higher Education.”

Tyler Hook has received a Mellon International Dissertation Research Fellowship from the Social Science Research Council. The fellowship will support his study, “Corporate Subjects: (Re)shaping Governance and Schooling through Corporatized Development in Liberia.”

Khrysta Evans is the recipient of a 4W Engagement Grant for Emerging Scholars, sponsored by the 4W Women & Wellbeing Initiative at UW-Madison. The grant supports the work of scholars in the early years of their programs who are pursuing research agendas focused on the enhancement of gender equity in Wisconsin and globally.

Jennifer Otting is winner of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies’ Fellowship (2020-2021) for her dissertation, “Shaping the democratically minded citizen in Myanmar: Fragile state discourse and higher education democratization reforms.”

See all student awards and honors here.